Online Databases

Online Databases & Research

Online databases are available at the Library or on your home computer as long as you have a Brighton Public Library card. Simply click on the access link to each database below and enter your Library barcode, if requested.

 

 

Ancestry
Ancestry Library Edition

Provides unprecedented access to family history via documents that record the lineage of over 5 billion individuals. This database is a genealogy research tool with data from census, military records, court, land, probate, vital and church records, passenger lists, etc. It covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries. English and French content.

 

Access: Use in Library Only

TumbleBooks
Tumble Books Library Premium

The TumbleBook Premium Libary has nearly 1000 titles and is best for those in grades K-6. It includes animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, playlists, books in languages other than English. graphic novels and math stories. It also contains educational resources such as quizzes, educational games, and puzzles that are related to both math and language skills. "Math Stories" help increase math skills while reading, which help you learn to count, add, subtract and more! Graphic Novels have text highlighting along with audio narration.

Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

CanPoint
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Featuring essays published specifically for Canadian Points of View.

Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Novelist
Novelist

Find your next read, fiction and nonfiction, by author, title, subject, genre.

Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

k8
Novelist K-8

Find your next read for kids. Fiction and nonfiction reading suggestions for children.

Audience: K-8.
Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

CHC
Consumer Health Complete/Multilingual Health

Designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information.
Try MultiLingual Health for health information in French & other languages.

Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Kids
Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Kids
Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Kids
Canada in CONTEXT

Canada in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, and events. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content, written from a Canadian perspective, with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Chiltons
Chilton Library (Automotive Repair)

ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

WorldBook
WorldBook Advanced Reference Suite

The perfect research companion for high-school students, Advanced contains academic tools to assist with research projects and general information-seeking resources including a built-in dictionary and atlas. My Research even allows students to store their findings in individualized accounts. Favorite features include the Citation Builder, which creates perfect citations in MLA, APA, and Harvard formats, as well as access to the most current newspapers from all over the world.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

ew
WorldBook Early World of Learning

Produced with advice from experts in early childhood development and education, Early World of Learning is the leading online resource for young children. It includes four beautiful, interactive learning sites designed for young learners.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

peb
PebbleGo

Designed specifically for K-3, the award-winning PebbleGo Animals database from Capstone Digital Publishers offers information on hundreds of animals! Now includes PebbleGo Sciences too!.

Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

OurOntario
Our Ontario

Find digital images, text, audio and videos about Ontario history, heritage and culture. Search the collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, heritage and community groups, government agencies, and private collections in Ontario and across Canada via a single search portal. English and French content.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library

Overdrive AudioBook Digital Library

Download digital Audiobooks anytime and then transfer to your portable device! Browse the library and add audiobooks to your cart. When you're ready, you can check out your items using the simple online process.
Please Note: You will need to enter your library card number and PIN.


Access: Use Inside or Outside the Library